Scroll to content

Welcome to Three Spires Trust

‘A new family of schools is born’


Members Information


NameOffice heldDeclaration of business or pecuniary interestDate of appointment
David LeeChair of Trust Board
  • Managing Director, Lee Property Ltd.
  • Chair, Hothouse on the Redhouse
  • Chair, Birmingham Advanced Motorists
  • Priest-in-Charge, The Parish of Aston & Nechells
22 January 2021
John Naylor 
  • Chair, Lichfield Diocesan Board of Finance
  • Trustee, St Chad's Retreat Centres
  • Trustee, Cheswardine PCC
22 January 2021
Matthew Parker 
  • Bishop of Stafford
  • Trustee, Lichfield Diocesan Board of Finance
22 January 2021
Claire ShawEx Officio
  • Director of Education, Diocese of Lichfield
  • Corporate Member, Diocesan MATs
  • Trustee, De Ferrers Academy Trust
  • Chair of Governors, Lichfield Cathedral School
22 January 2021
David ShemiltChair of Members
  • Governor, St Luke's CE (A) Primary School
22 January 2021




Members profiles 

The Venerable Dr. David Lee 

(Chair of Trustees)                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    

5 years secondary teacher; 11 years lecturer in Biblical studies and Theology at degree level; 12 years secondary school governor, 12 years member of Diocesan Board of Education; David is ordained and retired as Archdeacon of Bradford in 2016. Chair and team leader for start up Bradford Diocesan Academies Trust, a CofE Diocesan MAT in Yorkshire. David is the Chair of the Three Spires Trust Board.
John NaylorJohn is currently Chairman of the Lichfield DBF a position he has held since 2012. John was an experienced senior leader having held a variety of Chairman, Chief Executive and Managing Director positions within private industry. John is heavily involved choirs and choral music.
Bishop Matthew Parker, Bishop of StaffordMatthew Parker was born in Manchester but grew up in Staines. He studied English at Manchester University and, whilst there, was accepted for ordination in the Church of England. In 2013 Matthew became Archdeacon of Stoke-upon-Trent and in 2021 was consecrated as the new Bishop of Stafford. Matthew has a lifelong interest in education - he has been a school chaplain and served on a number of governing bodies.
Claire ShawClaire is Director of Education for the Lichfield Diocese. Prior to this role, Claire had two primary headships: one in an inner city community school in Bristol and the other in a small rural Church of England school near Lichfield. In Bristol, Claire became an NCSL Consultant Leader for Bristol City Council. Claire has had over 12 years’ experience leading SEND. In 2016 Claire became Deputy Director of Education. In 2018/2019 Claire has completed the training to become both a SIAMS inspector and Critical Reader. Claire works with 34 MATS and 7 local authorities.

David Shemilt

(Chair of Members)

After attending Madeley College of Education, David went in to private and commercial banking, joining one of the big four UK banks. He worked in banking for 27 years, finishing in senior management. David has been involved in school governance since 1982, having served as governor and chair of governors of both primary and secondary schools. In 2019 David was appointed as the first Chair of Governors for the newly formed Wade Federation overseeing church education serving ages 2-18.